The masquerade…..

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Wicked Witch.”

masquerade_by_la__boheme-d5h6cbz

“The masquerade arrives,

Bodies entwined…….

I stand distanced;

With my chalice……confined….

Evil I sustain,

Relinquish and devour;

And wonder if I can….

Sip it every hour.

The masks do not drop

So I cannot discern;

That every chalice is plagued or not

Does evil inside burn?

Now I am one of them;

The masquerade traverses terrains,

I must keep the evil within…….

In fetters and in chains.

I see witches, shadows….

Slip by with ease;

Wicked they are,

Masks everywhere….

Time doesn’t freeze.

I must move on………

Leave a Reply

